1. K-State home
  2. »College of Business Administration
  3. »Academics
  4. »Departments and Centers
  5. »Accounting Department
  6. »Hall of Fame

College of Business Administration

College of Business Administration

Student Success Center
1001 Business Building
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506

Dean's Office
2019 Business Building
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506

K-State Accounting Hall of Fame

The Department of Accounting Hall of Fame award recognizes outstanding accounting alumni who are making an impact in the world of business, government or academia.

In 2019, we inducted Vern Herbel, retired Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer of Torchmark Corporation, into the Accounting Hall of Fame

 Vern Herbel
2019 Inductee Vern Herbel

Past Inductees

2019     Vern Herbel                                 Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, Torchmark
2018     Michael Upchurch                         Executive Vice President & CFO, Kansas City Southern

2018     Johanna Lyle                                Instructor Emeritus of Accounting
2017     Ken Selzer                                   Kansas Insurance Commissioner
2016     Mark A. Soucie                             Vice President & CFO, Koch Chemical Technology Group, LLC
2015     Barry Robinson                             EMEIA Tax Markets Leader, Ernst & Young
2014     Steve Lacy                                  Chairman of the Board & CEO, Meredith Corporation
2013     Doug Gaston                                Regional Managing Partner of BKD
2012     Jackson Day                                Ernst and Young's Americas Professional Practice
2011     Paul Edgerley                               Managing Director, Bain Capital
2010     Robert G. Chapman (deceased)        President, Zieman Manufacturing
2009     Julie Bryant                                 Controller, ConocoPhillips
2008     Stan Weber                                 Chief Financial Officer, Tower Properties Company 
2007     Randall G. Fletchall                       Vice Chair, Assurance and Advisory Business Services 
2006     Joleen D. Moden                           Retired Senior Vice President, Verizon Communications
2005     Maurice "Buzz" Stark                      Retired Professor, Kansas State University
2005     Gene Laughlin                              Retired Associate Dean, Kansas State University
2005     Ken Fox                                      Retired Professor, Kansas State University 
2004     Randolph A. Buseman                    Partner, Ernst & Young
2003     Rand C. Berney                            Vice President and Controller, ConocoPhillips
2002     Candace Duncan                           Partner, KPMG
2001     Gary Boomer                               Chief Executive Officer, Boomer Consulting Inc.
2001     Roger Sink                                  Partner, Sink, Gillmore & Gordon LLP
2000     F. Lynn Markel                             Retired EVP & CFO, Koch Industries
2000     Julie Davis                                  Partner, KPMG
1999     Bill Sinderson                               Retired, Baird Kurtz & Dobson
1999     Allen Webber                               Retired, Kennedy and Coe