Finance Department

The finance program seeks to provide a high quality educational experience. Through a carefully designed curriculum, we offer three areas of specialization within finance, management, controllership and service, to help students prepare for the finance career of their choice. We strive to blend theory with practice in all our courses.

Finance graduates are in high demand and many employers return year after year to hire them. Almost 90 percent of our students have either accepted a full-time position or have made plans to further their education prior to graduation. Those that do begin their professional career earn highly competitive wages.

We offer numerous merit-based scholarships to finance majors. We have an active advisory board comprised of more than 40 successful alumni who contribute their time and talent to improve our programs and assist students as they plan their professional careers. Our Student Finance Association is one of the most active in the college and provides opportunities for further development and connections in finance.

Learn more about the major in finance.

Mission & Vision

The mission of the department of finance is to inspire students to assume leadership in a global, ever changing, and diverse business world. These experiences result from the intellectual scholarship of the faculty both in and out of the instructional environment; a rigorous, relevant, and diverse curriculum; and the support of the department’s programs by external stakeholders.

To achieve this mission, we strive to continually enhance the academic and professional stature of our programs. We also strive to maintain a scholastic climate in which the faculty can grow professionally and fulfill their responsibilities through high quality instruction, research, and professional service; and engage external stakeholders in our endeavors.

Advisory Board 

The Finance Advisory Board, established in 1991, is comprised of a select group of distinguished business, government and academic leaders. The purpose of the group is to: 

  • Advise the department on matters such as: curriculum development and enhancement, graduate placement, workshop offerings and executive development, faculty development and external relations
  • Participate in the annual nomination and selection of a distinguished financial executive who will be recognized as the "Outstanding Financial Executive of the Year" by the Finance Advisory Board and the K-State Chapter of the Financial Management Association National Honorary Society


Eric Higgins, department head
Connie Schmidt, administrative assistant

117D Calvin Hall Manhattan, KS 66506
p. 785-532-6892

Advisory Board

Executive Committee 2013-2014

  • George Schultz, Jr. (President), Partner, Big Giant Drilling, LLC
  • Lois Cox (President-Elect), Director of Investments, Kansas State University Foundation
  • Tyler Bachman (Vice president), Asst. Vice President, US Bank
  • Scott Herpich (Treasurer), Attorney, Polsinelli Shughart PC
  • Patrick R. Robinson (Secretary), Vide President Finance, Mize & Company, Inc.
  • J. J. Schenkelberg (President) Sr. Portfolio Manager, CLS Investment Firm LLC

Members 2013-2014

  • Tyler Bachman, Asst. Vice President, US Bank
  • Chris Badger, Principal, Grapevine Reality
  • Darin Batchman, Emerging Markets Credit Analyst, Stone Harbor Investment Partners
  • Justin L. Boisseau, Investment Analyst, Gates Capital Management Inc. 
  • Steven M. Butters, Partner, M&A Transaction Services, Deloitte & Touche LLP
  • Anthony P. Carreno, Director, Investor Relations, Great Plains Energy
  • Steve Collins, Corporate Accounting & Reporting Manager, Hallmark Cards
  • Ted Conrad, Mariner Wealth Advisors, LLC
  • Lois Cox, Director of Investments, Kansas State University Foundation
  • Michael H. Daniels, President, Kansas State Bank
  • Jerald L. Diepenbrock
  • Pat Dunne, Executive Vice President, Director, Business Banking, BOK FInancial Corporation
  • Paul B. Edgerley, Managing Director, Bain Capital
  • Victoria C. Farris, Director, Tatum, LLC
  • Mark W. Funke, President, Bank of Oklahoma, N.A. 
  • Jeffrey L. Gates, President, Gates Capital Management, Inc.
  • Donna German, Vice PResident, Treasurer & Chief Risk Officer, Hunt Consolidated
  • Michael S. Glynn, Managing Partner, Transition Partners
  • C. Nichols Graham, New Century Capital Partners Inc. 
  • J. M. Grier, Attorney, Warden Grier PC
  • Zachary Hamel, Managing Director, Tortoise Capital Advisors, LLC
  • Chris Hanson, Principal, George K. Baum Advisors LLC
  • Josh Heinrich, Asst. Vice President, Business Banking, Bank of Kansas City
  • Scott M. Herpich, Attorney, Polsinelli Shughart PC
  • Andrew S. Klocke, Managing DIrector, Prairie Capital Management LLC
  • Ken Laudan, Cottonwood Invesment Advisors
  • John C. Martin, Kansas City Managing Partner, PricewaterhouseCooper LLP
  • David Meyer, Sr. Vice President, Finance, Dairy Farmers of America, Inc.
  • Bret W. Oettmeier, Vice President, Quadrangle Group
  • John O'Hara, Commodity Merchandise/Business Development, Lansing Trading Group, LLC
  • Pat Petrie, Director, Field Operations and Project Support, H&R Block Taz Services, Inc.
  • David F. Platt
  • Verlyn D. Richards, Professor Emeritus, Department of Finance
  • Patrick R. Robinson, President, Mize Wire Products
  • Jennifer J. Schenkelberg, Sr. Portfolio Manager, CLS Investment Firm, LLC.
  • George W. Schultz, Jr., partner, Big Giant Drilling, LLC 
  • Joseph L. Searles, III, President, Joseph Searles & Company Inc. 
  • Larry L. Sears, Sr. Vide President, Dallas Energy Banking Group, Amegy Bank of Texas
  • Mark A. Soucie, CFO, Koch Fertilizer LLC
  • Kent G. Townsend, Executive Vide President & CFO, Capitol Federal Financial
  • Steven Townsend, Vice President, Fixed Income Capital Markets, Stifel Financial
  • Matthew G. Urbanek, Vide President & CFO ViraCor, LLC
  • Tammie Wahaus